après production

  nouveautés éditions
  films / catalogue
  textes référents
  la société

A coédition a.p.r.e.s éditions / Centre national des arts plastiques

A utopia born of the imagination of gallerist and author Rüdiger Schöttle.
Or a radical re-examination of the status of the exhibition as a historical and cultural format.
Or a collection of works by Bernard Bazile, Glenn Branca, James Coleman, Fortuyn/O’Brien, Ludger Gerdes, Dan Graham, Rodney Graham, Marin Kasimir, Christian Philipp Müller, Juan Muñoz, Hermann Pitz, Rüdiger Schöttle, Alain Séchas and Jeff Wall.
Or a film, a slow tracking shot through this exhibition-garden, punctuated by testamonials from project collaborators and expert observers including Bernard Blistène and Xavier Veilhan.
Or a collection of previously published texts and new writing by Erika Balsom, Chris Dercon, Tristan Garcia, Dan Graham, Vincent Normand, Rüdiger Schöttle and Guy Tortosa.

The Theatergarden Bestiarium exhibition, co-produced in 1989 by the Institute for Contemporary Art, P.S. 1 Museum, in New York, and Le Confort Moderne, in Poitiers, was acquired by the Centre national des arts plastiques, in 1990.


A film by Gilles Coudert

The film by Gilles Coudert narrates the genesis of the Theatergarden Bestiarium exhibition and its evolution. Art historian Guy Tortosa recounts the singular adventure initiated by the gallerist and author Rüdiger Schöttle and realised by exhibition curator Chris Dercon, who explains how such a project came about. Artists Dan Graham, Alain Séchas and Marin Kasimir share their memories and their retrospective analysis of their experiences. Artist Xavier Veilhan champions this exhibition as a major influence for his generation while Bernard Blistène, director of France’s Musée National d’Art Moderne, looks at it through the lens of the history of theatre, gardens and cinema. The testamonials offer complementary and complete insight, shining a light on the myriad challenges presented by this exhibition prototype, regularly adjusted at each of its successive presentations.

Gilles Coudert is a screenwriter, film director, producer and publisher.

« Theatergarten Bestiarium » A film by Rüdiger Schöttle
The film Theatergarten Bestiarium made by Rüdiger Schöttle in 1987, offered as a bonus feature, prefigures the exhibition project of the same name in the form of a scale model made of sugar and includes a soundtrack by Katharina Fritsch.


Texts by Erika Balsom, Chris Dercon, Tristan Garcia, Dan Graham, Vincent Normand, Rüdiger Schöttle and Guy Tortosa :

Guy Tortosa: Theatergarden Bestiarium or Making History

Rüdiger Schöttle: Bestiarium : Theatre and Garden of Violence, War and Happiness

Dan Graham: Theater, Cinema, Power

Chris Dercon: Many dreams of many Gardens (selected extracts)

Erika Balsom: Re-entering the Theatergarden Bestiarium

Interview by Philippe Bettinelli, Heritage Conservator at the Centre national des arts plastiques with Tristan Garcia and Vincent Normand, Heads of the Research Laboratory “Theater, Garden, Bestiary: A Materialist History of Exhibitions”.

Erika Balsom is senior lecturer in Film Studies at King’s College London. She is the author of After Uniqueness: A History of Film and Video Art in Circulation (2017) and Exhibiting Cinema in Contemporary Art (2013), as well as the co-editor of Documentary Across Disciplines (2016). She is a frequent contributor to Artforum and Sight&Sound. Chris Derconis an art historian and curator. In 2017 he became the director of the Volksbühne theatre in Berlin. Tristan Garcia is senior lecturer in philosophy at Lyon 3 University. In 2008, he defended his thesis on the concept of representation in art and published his first novel. Since then he has combined writing fiction with essays on the themes of images, ethics and animal cruelty, TV series and graphic novels. Dan Graham is an artist, performer, photographer, video maker, art critic and art theorist who became a key figure in conceptual art and counter culture. Vincent Normand is an art historian, author and curator. He teaches at ECAL (Lausanne University of Art and Design), is co-editor of the journal Glass Bead and has curated or talked at the Centre Pompidou, Witte de With,
David Roberts Art Foundation, Kadist Art Foundation, Artist’s Institute, Banff Centre and INHA. Rüdiger Schöttle is a gallerist and author. Guy Tortosa is an art historian and general inspector of artistic creation at the general directorate for artistic creation at the Ministry of Culture.



> 1 DVD
Film: "Jardin Théâtre Bestiarium"
A film by Gilles Coudert
52 minutes – Original Version French and English Subtitlles – © 2017 a.p.r.e.s production
Bonus: "Theatergarden Bestiarium"
A film by Rüdiger Schöttle
10 minutes – Version originale – © 1987 Galerie Rüdiger Schöttle
> 1 BOOK: French / English – 19 x 14 cm – 128 pages (n/b)
Texts by Erika Balsom, Chris Dercon, Tristan Garcia, Dan Graham, Vincent Normand, Rüdiger Schöttle, Guy Tortosa.
Texts © 2018 CNAP & Auteurs

> Publication: March 2017
> Co-édition a.p.r.e.s éditions / Centre national des arts plastiques

Public Price: 20,00 €                  > Order



> édition(s)

a.p.r.e.s production © 2018

après production

     
  accueil
   
  actualités
   
  nouveautés éditions
  éditions
  commander
   
  films / catalogue
  textes référents
   
  partenariats
   
  la société
  contact
  liens
   
    s'abonner
 
 
     
 
 

Une coédition a.p.r.e.s éditions / Centre national des arts plastiques

Soit une utopie née de l'imagination du galeriste et auteur Rüdiger Schöttle.
Soit une remise en question radicale du statut de l'exposition en tant que forme historique et culturelle.
Soit des œuvres de Bernard Bazile, Glenn Branca, James Coleman, Fortuyn/O'Brien, Ludger Gerdes, Dan Graham, Rodney Graham, Marin Kasimir, Christian Philipp Müller, Juan Muñoz, Hermann Pitz, Rüdiger Schöttle, Alain Séchas et Jeff Wall.
Soit un film de Gilles Coudert, promenade en travelling dans cette exposition-jardin, ponctué de témoignages croisés d'acteurs du projet et d'observateurs avertis comme Bernard Blistène et Xavier Veilhan.
Soit un recueil de textes historiques ou inédits d'Erika Balsom, Chris Dercon, Tristan Garcia, Dan Graham, Vincent Normand, Rüdiger Schöttle et Guy Tortosa.

L’exposition Jardin-Théâtre Bestiarium coproduite, en 1989, par l’Institute for Contemporary Art, P.S. 1 Museum, à New York, et le Confort Moderne, à Poitiers, a été acquise par le Centre national des arts plastiques, en 1990.

 
 

Un film de Gilles Coudert

Le film de Gilles Coudert relate la genèse de l’exposition Jardin-Théâtre Bestiarium et son évolution. L’historien de l’art Guy Tortosa nous raconte cette aventure singulière initiée par le galeriste et auteur Rüdiger Schöttle et portée par le commissaire d’exposition Chris Dercon, qui nous dévoilent comment est né un tel projet. Les artistes Dan Graham, Alain Séchas et Marin Kasimir nous livrent leurs souvenirs et leurs analyses rétrospectives de cette expérience. L’artiste Xavier Veilhan, lui, revendique cette exposition comme une influence majeure pour sa génération et Bernard Blistène, directeur du musée national d’Art moderne, la met en perspective avec l’histoire du théâtre, des jardins et du cinéma. Les témoignages se répondent et se complètent au fil d’une enquête qui nous éclaire sur les multiples enjeux de ce prototype d’exposition, régulièrement ajusté lors de ses monstrations successives.
Gilles Coudert est auteur-réalisateur, producteur et éditeur.

BONUS :
« Theatergarten Bestiarium » Un film de Rüdiger Schöttle
Le film Theatergarten Bestiarium, réalisé par Rüdiger Schöttle en 1987 et proposé en complément, préfigure sous la forme d’une maquette en sucre le projet d’exposition Jardin-Théâtre Bestiarium sur une bande son de Katharina Fritsch.

 
 

Textes de Erika Balsom, Chris Dercon, Tristan Garcia, Dan Graham, Vincent Normand, Rüdiger Schöttle et Guy Tortosa :

Guy Tortosa : Jardin-Théâtre Bestiarium ou Les Temps de l’histoire

Rüdiger Schöttle : Bestiarium : Théâtre et Jardin de violence, guerre et bonheur

Dan Graham : Théâtre et Jardin de violence, guerre et bonheur

Chris Dercon : Des Jardins rêvés à l’infini (extraits choisis)

Erika Balsom : Retour au Jardin-Théâtre Bestiarium

Entretien de Philippe Bettinelli, conservateur du patrimoine au Centre national des arts plastiques, avec Tristan Garcia et Vincent Normand, directeurs du Laboratoire de recherche « Théâtre, Jardin, Bestiaire : une histoire matérialiste de l’exposition ».

Erika Balsom est maître de conférences en études cinématographiques au King’s College, à Londres. Elle a publié Exhibiting Cinema in Contemporary Art (2013) et After Uniqueness. A History of Film and Video Art in Circulation (2017) et codirigé Documentary Across Disciplines (2016). Elle écrit pour Artforum et Sight&Sound. Chris Dercon est historien de l’art et commissaire d’expositions. Depuis 2017, il dirige le théâtre berlinois Volksbühne. Tristan Garcia est maître de conférences en philosophie à l’université de Lyon 3. En 2008, il a soutenu sa thèse sur le concept de représentation en art et a publié son premier roman. Il écrit des ouvrages de fiction mais aussi de théorie, consacrés aux images, à l’éthique et à la souffrance animale, aux séries télévisées ou à la bande dessinée. Dan Graham est artiste, performeur, photographe, vidéaste, critique d’art et théoricien de l’art, associé à l’art conceptuel et à la contre-culture. Vincent Normand est historien de l’art, auteur et commissaire d’expositions. Il enseigne à l’ÉCAL / École cantonale d’art de Lausanne. Il est coéditeur de la revue Glass Bead. Il a été commissaire d’expositions et a donné des conférences au Centre Pompidou, au Witte de With, à la David Roberts Art Foundation, à la Kadist Art Foundation, à l’Artist’s Institute, au Banff Centre, ou à l’INHA. Rüdiger Schöttle est galeriste et auteur. Guy Tortosa est historien de l’art et inspecteur général de la création artistique à la Direction générale de la création artistique du ministère de la Culture.

 
 


 
 

> 1 DVD
Film : « Jardin Théâtre Bestiarium »
Un film de Gilles Coudert
52 minutes – Version originale sous-titrée français et anglais – © 2017 a.p.r.e.s production
Bonus : « Theatergarden Bestiarium »
Un film de Rüdiger Schöttle
10 minutes – Version originale – © 1987 Galerie Rüdiger Schöttle
> 1 LIVRE : éd. Française / Anglaise – 19 x 14 cm – 128 pages (n/b)
Textes de Erika Balsom, Chris Dercon, Tristan Garcia, Dan Graham, Vincent Normand, Rüdiger Schöttle, Guy Tortosa.
Textes © 2018 CNAP & Auteurs

> Parution : mars 2017
> Co-édition a.p.r.e.s éditions / Centre national des arts plastiques

Prix public TTC : 20,00 €                  > Commander
Scolaires et institutionnels :           > Nous contacter

ENGLISH VERSION

 
 

Dans la même collection "Variations sur..." :

> COFFRET LIVRE-DVD UNE ARTISTE ENGAGÉE : VARIATIONS SUR NIL YALTER
> COFFRET LIVRE-DVD POÉSIE ACTION : VARIATIONS SUR BERNARD HEIDSIECK
> COFFRET LIVRE-DVD BLVD GARIBALDI : VARIATIONS SUR YONA FRIEDMAN
> COFFRET LIVRE-DVD NUMÉRO TROIS : VARIATIONS SUR NUMÉRO DEUX DE JEAN-LUC GODARD

> édition(s)

 
   
     
a.p.r.e.s production © 2018